COM Board of Trustees Officer Positions for 2018

February 14th, 2018 - 4:25pm

News Contact:
Nicole Cruz
Office of the Superintendent/President
(415) 485-9508

College of Marin Board of Trustees Officer Positions for 2018

KENTFIELD / NOVATO, CA—February 14, 2018—Last month’s regular meeting of the College of Marin (COM) Board of Trustees began with new officers assuming their roles.

According to COM Board Policy 2305 and corresponding Administrative Procedure 2305, board officer positions rotate annually among all elected trustees, with each trustee moving up one position yearly. The exception is the board president who moves to the end of the rotation list behind any newly elected trustees.

2018 Board Officers
Eva Long portraitEva Long, Ph.D., President

Dr. Long is president and co-founder of Excellence Launch Associates, a management consulting business that conducts the governor’s school accountability management audits. She is a principal associate for Ahlers and Long Associates, a management and corporate training company, and owns and manages a multi-real estate holding. Throughout her career, she has worked as a teacher, superintendent and as UC-Berkeley adjunct faculty. She has also managed multi-million dollar divisions and school districts and is a former retail business owner. National honors include awards from the Ford, Rockefeller, and Fulbright Scholar foundations. First elected to the COM Board of Trustees in 1999, her current term expires in 2020.


Philip Kranenburg portraitPhilip Kranenburg, Vice President

Philip J. Kranenburg serves board vice president. Kranenburg, a certified public accountant, is the managing director of Kranenburg Capital Management LLC, an investment firm focusing on clean technology-based growth companies. He has 20-years of experience advising and providing executive leadership for venture-backed technology and financial services companies. A graduate of the Environmental Forum of Marin and member of the Marin Economic Commission, he has also served on the Marin County Committee on School District Organization, the Marin County Schools Task Force, Dixie Educational Foundation and the Congestion Management Agency. First elected to the College of Marin Board of Trustees in 2003, his current term expires in 2020.


Stuart Tanenberg potraitStuart Tanenberg, Clerk 

Stuart Tanenberg serves as board clerk. Tanenberg is the chief executive officer of Beressi Custom Manufacturing Company and is a former trustee of the Larkspur Corte Madera School District. He has over 30 years of experience serving on various local boards, councils, and committees. Tanenberg is actively involved in community service organizations including the Marin County Committee on School District Organization, Board Member Treasurer of the Marin Medical Reserve Corps Foundation, and the Twin Cities Disaster Preparedness Committee, among others. Appointed to the COM Board of Trustees at a special meeting on April 1, 2014, Tanenberg filled the seat left open by the resignation of former trustee Dr. James Namnath, who resigned in February 2014. Tanenberg was elected in 2015; his current term expires in 2020.


Bios and contact information for all members of the COM Board of Trustees are online at 

About College of Marin
Established in 1926, College of Marin remains committed to educational excellence, providing equitable opportunities, and fostering success in all members of its diverse community. With campuses in Kentfield and Novato, students of all ages have affordable access to an exciting variety of credit and noncredit courses as well as community education classes for lifelong learning. College of Marin is one of 114 public community colleges in California and approximately 13,000 credit, noncredit, and community education students enroll annually.

College of Marin is accredited by the Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges, Western Association of Schools and Colleges, 10 Commercial Boulevard, Suite 204, Novato, CA 94949, (415) 506-0234, an institutional accrediting body recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation and the U.S. Department of Education.